Elections and Appointments

In 1939, the Washington State Legislature created conservation districts and the Washington State Conservation Commission (WSCC) through the enactment of Revised Code of Washington (RCW) Chapter 89.08 for the purpose of conserving natural resources.  Each conservation district in Washington is governed by a Board of five members, called Supervisors. Three are elected by voters registered in the district, and two are appointed by the WSCC.  At least two of the elected and one of the appointed Supervisors must be local landowners or operators of a farm. Supervisors serve without compensation and set policy and direction for the conservation district. Click here to learn more about conservation district supervisor responsibilities.



A mail-in only election was held on March 8, 2023 for one District full-term elected position.  Incumbent Julie Boggs was the only candidate to file. The Washington State Conservation Commission certified and announced the winners of all 45 conservation district elections at its May 18, 2023 meeting (see official results below). Additional information about conservation district elections can also be found on the Washington State Conservation Commission (WSCC) website, and under the Washington Administrative Code (WAC) Chapter 135-110, or by contacting Bill Eller of the WSCC at beller@scc.wa.gov or 509-385-7512.


Incumbent Al Latham was the only person to apply for the open appointed position on the District Board of Supervisors. His reappointment becomes official when the WSCC certifies elections and appointments in May.